Leduc County takes next step with electoral boundary shuffle

Plan would see County divided into seven wards

Leduc County council has given initial approval for plans to divide the municipality into wards.

Public meetings and planning have been underway on the proposed change dating back to last year, and it would be the first update to the county's electoral boundaries in more than 30 years.

The County says that along with land annexations by Edmonton and Beaumont, it has also dealt with the Village of New Sarepta dissolving into a county hamlet in 2010.

The proposal on the table right now is to split the county into seven different wards.

Administration says key discussion points have been centred around balancing land size with population inside new ward boundaries, along with accounting for things like shadow, business, and commuter populations.

If the change gets final approval, it would come into effect for the next election in 2021.

More from Local News

Social Networks

Recently Played Songs

The One For All Club

Join the exclusive VIP club today!